Recommending Books Based on my Favourite Movies (I Have the Best Taste 🥰)

Sometimes I have these spontaneous moments of motivation and I start drafting a blog post – but then that motivation leaves as quickly as it comes and the draft gets lost in my sea of tabs.

This draft, however, has just been popping up every three days, and I can’t seem to lose sight of the WordPress tab anymore, which is why I’ve considered it a sign to come back here, at least while it’s summer, and incessantly throw my strong opinions about books at you.

In this post, though, in case the title wasn’t clear enough, I’ll be showering you with book recommendations based on my favourite movies (you’re WELCOME <3). I’ll probably find 3 new movies I love by the end of next week but here are some of my absolute favourites, and the books I think they’re most similar to.

NOTE: clicking on the book covers will lead you to their respective Goodreads pages.

10 Things I Hate About You (1999)

Can we talk about how every part of this movie was just… perfection — and if you ignore the fact that it was based off a book in the first place (Shakespeare’s The Taming of the Shrew) — there are very few books that I think actually match the vibes (and perfect nature) of this movie. If I had to pick one though, I’d go with The Love Hypothesis by Ali Hazelwood. Despite The Love Hypothesis being extremely basic and not the most similar to 10 Things I Hate About You plot-wise, they both hit the same sweet spot for me, and I can breeze through both no matter what mood I’m in.

I’m really just trash for anything written by Ali Hazelwood, and while this book’s been compared to “Wattpad-level Reylo fan-fiction”, what’s 10 Things I Hate About You if not Shakespeare-based fan-fiction in the form of a cinematic masterpiece?

She’s The Man (2006)

I genuinely think any Shakespeare script turned into a 90s/early 2000s Rom-Com can find its way into my heart because She’s The Man ALSO happens to be based off a Shakespeare play. In case you haven’t seen it, She’s The Man is based off Shakespeare’s Twelfth Night, leaving even the character names the same. I realised She’s The Man was a retelling of Twelfth Night a while after I watched it and it’s lowkey shocking how similar they both are.

Aside from Twelfth Night though, the book I think She’s The Man completely matches the vibes of is Perfect on Paper by Sophie Gonzales. The first time I read this book was over two years ago, and while I forget the plots of most fluffy contemporaries moments after I’ve read them, this one’s lived rent-free in my head for the longest time, exactly like She’s The Man. They both provide Serotonin at unnatural levels, and surprisingly, aside from the main character masquerading as a guy, the romance is also similar (at least to me).

Top Gun (1986)

Action, high stakes, and hot men perfectly sum up basically any fantasy released in the last 10 years. From Sarah J. Maas to Leigh Bardugo there’s no shortage of books with all 3 to keep you company. I will also never stop screaming about These Violent Delights by Chloe Gong, The Gilded Wolves trilogy by Roshani Chokshi, and The Iron Widow trilogy by Xiran Jay Zhao that all forever hold my heart, and are perfect for fans of Top Gun, but since I’ve already spoken about them SO much over here, I’ve also decided to recommend Jade Fire Gold by June C.L. Tan.

Jade Fire Gold is a standalone fantasy, and encompasses all that Top Gun does. It’s full of East-Asian mythology, and is a fast-paced, Xianxia inspired book with constant action. While it’s not one of my FAVOURITE books, it does include a lot of stuff that makes it seem perfect on paper — like an enemies-to-lovers arc, gorgeous world-building, and a surprisingly provocative epilogue.

Bend It Like Beckham (2002)

Bend It Like Beckham is a movie that forever lives rent-free in my head. Funnily enough, about 9 years later, they turned the screenplay into a book. While I’ve never read the book based on this, I’m pretty sure that no book could possible live up to the standards this movie holds. Though it may seem like just another early 2000’s cinematic masterpiece, it’s iconic-ness (excuse my creation of words) is unmatched by anything that’s come after. However, if I HAD to compare this with a book, and recommend a book to you, I’d go with XOXO by Axie Oh.

Let me be clear for a second — XOXO is absolutely NOWHERE near the standards of this movie, and if given a chance, I’d say you should just ditch any book and watch Bend It Like Beckham. Despite not being as iconic as the movie, however, XOXO‘s still a happiness-inducing book that is somewhat reminiscent to Bend It Like Beckham, especially in terms of the forbidden romance. I don’t think I’ve read a single negative review about this book, it’s exceedingly cute and I breezed through it in a sitting. Seriously though — watch the movie. Please.

Khoobsurat (2014)

Khoobsurat is my guilty pleasure. From the stupid jokes that make me (quite literally) laugh out loud, to Sonam Kapoor and Kirron Kher’s quirkiness, and Fawad Khan in all his glory, it’s something I can watch on repeat. I think we’ve established at this point that any rom-com filled with happy endings and lacking brain cells is my type, and Khoobsurat is no different.

The book I think PERFECTLY goes with this movie is Red, White & Royal Blue by Casey McQuiston (it’s also being turned into a movie and I am dying of anticipation — the casting is PERFECT). With everything from the A++ banter, the stupid jokes, the enemies-to-lovers plotline, and the royal family drama, both the book and the movie are similar in so many ways. Aside from the fact that the book lacks Wakhra Punjabi Swag™️, I’d recommend Red, White & Royal Blue to anyone who loves Khoobsurat, and Khoobsurat to anyone that loves Red, White, & Royal Blue.

Jerry Maguire (1996)

Jerry Maguire’s not a movie I think about very often, or if I’m being honest, really not a movie I think about at all. When I watched it though, I remember loving it very much — similar to The Marvelous Mirza Girls by Sheba Karim. The Marvelous Mirza Girls isn’t a book I think about often, but it’s one that perfectly balances humour with themes of love, loss, and growing, which in my head, makes it the perfect recommendation for people that love Jerry Maguire.

Although The Marvelous Mirza Girls lacks the whole sports aspect of it (which is another reason I fell in love with the movie), it perfectly encapsulates almost every other theme present in Jerry Maguire, everything from the “finding your own place in the world” angle, to the friendships, personal relationships, and hilarious dialogue reminds me of the movie. This book’s one I don’t see often on other people’s blogs, and it’s one I haven’t spoken about much myself, so I’d definitely recommend it right now! It’s also described as “Gilmore Girls meets vibrant New Delhi in this thoughtful and hilarious new novel”, and everybody loves Gilmore Girls so that’s another reason to pick up this book.

Legally Blonde (2001)

I have SO much to say about Legally Blonde. So much. I’ll save you the trouble of skimming through everything I have to say, though, and just not type anything at all — especially considering that it’s a classic and most of you have probably already watched it (you better have). For me, aside from the whole focus on pink and fashion, the biggest resemblance to Elle Woods in a book is Eliza Quan from Not Here to Be Liked by Michelle Quach.

Described as “Emergency Contact meets Moxie in this cheeky and searing novel”, it can’t get more Legally Blonde than “cheeky” and “searing”. Along with all the foolishness, meet-cutes, and rivals-to-lovers romance, though, there’s also the same academic-heavy setting, as well as a strong focus on feminism. Eliza Quan, as a protagonist, although lacking Elle Woods’ fashion sense, is just as headstrong, ambitious, and proactive as you would expect, making this book perfect for both a quick read, and one where you want something that’s not ALL fluff, but you don’t have enough brain cells to spare for anything heavier.

Hustle (2022)

I… liked this movie a lot more than I thought I would? I’m really struggling though, finding books reminiscent to movies like this because they focus so much on sports and the relationships you make in the sports industry, and unfortunately I haven’t read many books similar to that. I’ve heard really good things about The Blazewrath Games by Amparo Ortiz, but haven’t read it yet.

If anyone has any recommendations for books that are similar to Hustle, or Coach Carter, or The Blind Side (I’m sure you’ve picked up on the theme by now), please give me recommendations — I know it’s ironic that I’m asking for recommendations considering this is a post GIVING recommendations but please help me out here!!

How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days (2003)

In my head, How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days is like the less Christmas-y, Rom-Com version of Home Alone. It induces the same reactions, and causes a great deal of hilarity. No joke, this movie makes me laugh so much — and the plot is so understated? Can we take a second to appreciate how much thought would’ve been put into coming up with the idea behind the plot for this movie? It’s genius, similar to Counting Down with You by Tashie Bhuiyan.

Unlike How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days, in Counting Down with You, they’re both not simultaneously playing each other, which slightly reduced my amusement. The writing isn’t forced, and despite the abundance of rom-coms present, this is one that stands out, much like the movie. From the chemistry between characters, to the way that the romance doesn’t come before the plot, both the movie and book are two of my favourite things.

Read my interview with the author.

What are some of your favourite movies (is your taste as good. as mine?) — what books do you think they go best with?

20 thoughts on “Recommending Books Based on my Favourite Movies (I Have the Best Taste 🥰)”

  1. a new Windows to Worlds post?! UM YES PLEASE. it’s so good to see u back ahaana!!

    a lil’ embarrassed to admit i’ve only watched legally blonde out of these movies…but i HAVE heard of most of them. and your pairings are an absolute slay. lately there are so many beloved books getting screen adaptations (rw&rb, aggtm, heartstopper) – it’s so exciting!

    “everybody loves Gilmore Girls so that’s another reason to pick up this book” this is actual facts and i will add marvelous mirza girls to my tbr asap.

    wonderful post, and i look forward to whatever you write next!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. So good to see you back!! (at least briefly – I’m in the same spot) I’m not a movie person, so I’ve literally watched none of these movies, and I haven’t even read most of the books you matched with them (I loved Perfect on Paper though). I’ll have to check out some of the movies and the books!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A post from you after SO LONG ahaana, it’s good to see you back!!! I loved this post! (Bend it like beckham is the absolute best. Nothing compares to it, you’re so right.) I adore 10 things i hate about you and she’s the man as well. Taste!
    Out of the books you recommended I’ve only read perfect on paper, which I liked…i must read the rest too because some of these look awesome!
    great post<3

    Liked by 1 person

  4. New Ahaana post!! I absolutely love this! I think you have excellent movie taste; romantic comedies based on shakespeare plays are truly the best. Another book that totally reminds me of how to lost a guy in 10 days is “you deserve each other” by sarah hogle

    Liked by 1 person

  5. All of these seem so amazing. In particular, I now most definitely have to read Not Here to be Liked.
    Also, you clearly have impeccable movie taste because The Taming of the Shrew, Khoobsurat, Legally Blond, and How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days are all amazing.
    Love this <33

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Helloo!
    I just came from your ‘more about me’ page. And why do nobody laugh at our jokes😂😭 my friends literally ask me ‘was that a joke? Oh, haha ha’. Nevertheless I still supply them with my so-called- jokes.
    This was a gorgeous post!!! Khoobsurat is such AN AMAZING MOVIE. Fawad Khan is so drop dead gorgeous, ain’t he!?😭 Plus, Sonam’s whole personality ✨💛And hence, I definitely should read Red, White and Royal Blue.
    Wow, I’m so glad you love Legally Blonde! I can never get tired of re-watching it time and again, and ‘Not here to be liked’ looks so so pretty. I wish I had enough hours to read all these.😭
    Anyway, I’m glad to find your lovely blog! And loved this post❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  7. AHAANA!!!! I’M SO THRILLED TO HEAR FROM YOU!!!! 🤗 Also, your taste is IMPECCABLE – I mean, almost all of my favorite trashy feel-good movies made it onto your list! 😎 And I’m particularly glad you also appreciate the art that is high-school rom-com Shakespeare retellings. We need more of them! 😇

    Also, Bend It Like Beckham is a masterpiece! I’m so glad you love it, too, even if I’m almost afraid to tell you now that I am that one person who has written a scathingly bad review of XOXO and is horrified to see it paired with greatness like Bend it Like Beckham 🤣 I think I’ll forgive you, though, because on the whole, this post is positively epic!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. OHMYGOD I HAVE MISSED YOU AND YOUR POSTS SO MUCH AHHH this was so amazing legally blonde and gilmore girls are literally my lifeline!!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. loved legally blonde and yes!!! I loved not here to be liked too!! my favorite movies are to all the boys I’ve loved before and everything everywhere all at once. to all the boys goes well with the jasmine project by Meredith Ireland, and everything everywhere goes well with the atlas paradox, I think.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. i think im now convinced that the reason im wholly in love with a mere two movies despite watching like 5767384 throughout my life is because i havent watched enough shakespeare-script-turned-romcom so i should get right on that, THANKS.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Loved this post! Recently I’ve been on a 2000s romcoms movie marathon phase and I just like the comfort these movies bring, haha. 10 Things I hate about you is such gem! I like 13 going on 30 too. Other than this “genre” (I argue that is in fact its own genre), I really like the good ol’ adventure movies.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment