Everything I’m Hoping to get from the Red, White & Royal Blue Adaptation

Can we take a solid minute to talk about the ONLY thing on my mind right now — Red, White & Royal Blue‘s live-action adaptation is coming out in just over a month, and I don’t know how to react.

First, I’d like to apologise for the amount of brainless content I’ve been spewing lately. I’d also like to apologise very deeply in advance for the person I will become after watching this movie 😭

The official trailer came out a couple days ago and I’m literally losing my mind. The casting is perfection and both Taylor Zakhar Perez and Nicholas Galitzine are so unbelievably fiiiiiine I don’t know how my brain cells will handle it.

The first time I read RW&RB, I gave it 4 stars, and stopped thinking about it. It was cute. That’s it. Since then, though, it’s grown into one of my favourite books, and a true comfort read (I’ve read it 6 times just this year). In order to cope with my intense anticipation and excitement, I’ve decided to write a post about everything I’m expecting from the live-action adaptation for this book.

1) The Original Alex and Henry Chemistry

Based on all the clips and interviews and posts on IG I’ve seen so far I’ve gotta say — things are looking good for this point. Aside from the undeniable chemistry in the trailer, they also seem to have a bond off-set which makes my expectations SOAR. If the banter in the movie isn’t as natural as the banter in the book I will actually cry.

ALSO completely off-topic, but Nicholas Galitzine was Prince Robert in Cinderella (2019), and he plays Henry (constantly referred to as Prince Charming by Alex, and the actual Prince of Wales) in this movie? Are we noticing a pattern? I love it.

2) Focus on Henry’s Writing and Alex’s Political Thoughts from the Book

The only thing missing from the trailer was Henry’s gorgeous writing (yes I’m talking about the letters), and Alex’s political, and academic journey. While I’m sure they’re not going to omit the letters because of how crucial they are to the plot, Henry’s writing, and all the historical details in the letters were some of my favourite parts of the book. That, combined with Alex’s entire inner monologue through his political and academic journey were two things that made Red, White & Royal Blue such a great read, which is why I’m hoping they’re given as much focus in the movie.

3) Even a Fraction of the Hilarity

This book has made me CACKLE on so many occasions. 10/10 would not recommend to read in public. You will 100% get judgemental glances, because you will 100% also cackle as loudly as I did. A lot of my laughing also occurred because of the written interactions, like all the texts and emails, so I’m interested in seeing how they’ll bring out the banter that wasn’t spoken. If the movie’s even a percentage as funny as the book was, I’ll be ecstatic.

4) All the Little Details

From all the anecdotes, to June’s fashion sense, and Nora’s intellectuality, it’s the characters’ and the story’s little quirks that make Red, White & Royal Blue the story that it is. I’m hoping that none of the teeny details are skipped over in the film. While I’m not expecting it to be identical to the book, it shouldn’t stray too far off, and even the teensy details should be given attention.

All in all, as you can see, my expectations for this movie are unimaginably high (I’m sorry, but the book was just that good). While Red, White & Royal Blue seems like just another contemporary, or just another Rom-Com (and it seemed like that for me too, the first time I read it), the book’s grown on me so much, and it’s slowly moved it’s way up from being just another Rom-Com, to taking its place as a comfort read. If the movie doesn’t match that “comfort read” level, I’ll definitely be let down.

What about you? What all are you expecting from the Red, White & Royal Blue adaptation? Are there any other live-action adaptations coming out soon that you’re excited for?

15 thoughts on “Everything I’m Hoping to get from the Red, White & Royal Blue Adaptation”

  1. I AM SO EXCITED TOO I JSURELJDSF IM LSOING IUT I SCREMAED JUST LOOKINGAT THE TRIALER I AM SO EXCITED AND I AGREE RWRB IS SUCH A COMFORT READ I REMEMVER READING IT IN MY FRESHME YEAR OF COLLEGE AND NOW IM GRADUATED AND I STIL THINK ABOUT IT ITSE OS GOOD IM SOE XIVITED

    Liked by 1 person

  2. honestly, as amazing as this would be if all your expectations showed up in the movie (because then it would be one of the greatest adaptations ever) I’ve lost all faith in adaptations because of the consistent disappointments. from the trailers I feel like this could be good?? but I’m hoping for all the minor details that you mentioned because that could really make it feel like the book brought to life. love this!! ❤ (we're also going to ignore the fact that I didn't even know there would be an adaptation till this post😭😭)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ahaana!!! i’ve missed you so much ml💖😭 i also missed reading your blog posts and waiting for your updates and THIS is everything that i need right now!! i cannot believe red white and royal blue is getting it’s film adaptation and i am simply in love with the casting!! i’ve missed you loads😭

    Liked by 1 person

  4. AHHHH, AHAANA, I’M HERE TO BE EXCITED RIGHT ALONG WITH YOU!! 🤗🤗🤗 You’re right, Red, White & Royal Blue is ultimate comfort read material, and I really hope the movie manages to live up to that! So far, I think the trailers look quite promising, although I think the actors look older than I imagined the characters… But if we have the hilarity, the cuteness, and the politics, I’m not complaining! 🥰

    Liked by 1 person

  5. It’s been quite a while since I’ve read the book, so I don’t have a lot of the details still in my head. I’ll be looking forward to watching, though. Hope it exceeds your expectations!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. OK SO I HAVE A CONFESSION IVE NEVER READ RWRB BUT IT MAKING YOU CACKLE SO MUCH BASICALLY JUST SINGLE HANDEDLY TAKES IT TO THE VERY TOP OF MY TBR I NEED?? also ghrfhjfdhbfgdhb THIS IS SUCH A PHENOMENAL POST IDEA HELLO IM IN LOVE

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment