We’re Cool for the Summer (and, apparently, also *Fashionably* Late): Lists, Plans, and Goals

*plays Cool for the Summer*

Oh my god???!?!?!?! Two posts from Ahaana within a month?!?!?!?!?! After a year?!?!?!?!?! That’s new.

Every summer, our family goes to London, stays there for a month with my mum’s brother, his wife, and two kids. Sometimes our shared grandparents join us there, and after the month’s over we travel to another country for the 2nd month of summer vacation.

This time, because our cousins bought an estate, and shifted to the British Countryside and out of their house in Central London, we decided we would stay in England for almost two months and explore what the Countryside has to offer.

We’re going to Montreux, and (maybe?) Milan, as well as, of course, day trips to other places in England, (and of course London very very very often for the shopping because I love shopping) but we’re all staying in the Countryside for a large majority of our trip.

books

At the moment, because I’ve been slumping SO much, I’m going to choose to absolutely neglect my TBR and focus on that when I’m up for it <33 Because reading’s something I love doing, and not a chore, I’m just going to read what I want, when I want to and MAJORLY mood-read. I’ve binged a few contemporaries in the past few weeks though and those are always fun!

Right now, I’m in the middle of reading East of Eden by John Steinbeck, The Last Thing He Told Me by Laura Dave, and Bright Ruined Things by Samantha Cohoe.

East of Eden by John Steinbeck: I’ve been reading East of Eden literally forever and I wasn’t getting anywhere, so I decided to re-start the book, and now I’m about 34 pages in and genuinely haven’t ~connected~ with the book yet, but then again, I haven’t really tried. Hopefully I end up loving it once I’m done because it sounds SO interesting and I’ve heard the best things about it.

Bright Ruined Things by Samantha Cohoe: Again, I started this a very long while ago, and I keep picking up new things instead of actually focusing on it, but it sounds super interesting, and I’m hoping to finish it soon.

The Last Thing He Told Me by Laura Dave: I love this so far — I’m about 87% done and it’s such an amazing story. I love the whole idea and the way the relationships are explored, so hopefully I’ll be done with this soon too.

*potential* tbr

holiday plans

Our last day of school was the 2nd of June, and school’s going to start again on the 2nd of August, so we have a clear two months of vacation!! Time is genuinely a construct though, and it’s flown by, so we have less than a month left now.

We came to the UK on the 16th of June (I spent a week in Jaipur at my paternal grandparents house before that), and since then every single day’s been so full of excitement.

Our cousins have a dog, who JUST turned two years old (on the 6th of July!) – her name’s Tilly, and she’s the cutest, sweetest, calmest, most gorgeous foxred labrador!! She’s the gentlest creature ever and LOVES to play (she also loves soft things)!! She’s the kind of dog that greets thieves at the gate – showing them the unlocked doors, and asking them to play with her 😭 We literally didn’t hear her bark until a week of being with her, she’s the most considerate doggie ever.

They also JUST got a little tiny puppy, called Pluto – and he’s almost 9 weeks old. He’s a golden labrador and he’s SO friendly, and loves playing too 😭 Because he’s in his teething phase, his favourite things include humping poor Tilly, stealing Tilly’s toys, making Tilly feel bad about herself, and chewing everything he can find, as well as looking cute (and sleeping cute) so we can never be mad at him. The worst part is even though he troubles poor, gorgeous Tilly so much, Tilly’s always so nice and she’s scared of hurting him 🥺💗

We’re also dog-sitting ANOTHER puppy called Silvie for two weeks – but she’s not really ours 😭😭 She’s the cutest puppy though – I think she’s around two months old, and she’s a true escape artist. Puppies have to stay in their pens so that they don’t get lost or hurt so Silvie has a pen, but sometimes she just wants to play – so she either a) jumps out or b) claws and bites at the lock until finally it opens and she can push open the gate it’s HILARIOUS 🥰

måneskin!!!! <3333

On the 25th of June, I went for a Billie Eilish concert at the O2 and it was horribly fun. Arlo Parks opened, and we got really good seats so it was such an amazing experience!! We’re going to Montreux for a week in like basically a day for the Montreux Jazz Fest and I’m genuinely so excited for that too!!! I’ve been to Switzerland before but never Montreux and I’m so excited for the festival too because of all the amazing acts. We’ve got VIP tickets for the 14th, 15th and 16th, and I’m seeing Måneskin on the 12th so I’m literally SCREAMING inside I love Måneskin omg!!!!!!!

We *might* go to Milan too after Montreux too – so that’s also very exciting!! I love shopping so much too, so Milan’s going to be fun – but it’s not confirmed so we might not go :// Even if we don’t, and come back to the UK, we’ll probably go to a beach house in Brighton or Devon to spend a few days, or just meet friends and family around Britain before we head back to Bombay in the first week of August for school (how depressing but it’s ok I don’t mind going to school 🤝🤠)

goals

  • Read at LEAST six books off my TBR for the summer, or just generally (and *hopefully* inch out of my slump)
  • Be productive & not lazy (don’t procrastinate)!!!!!
  • Study and revise the curriculum before school starts
  • Work on my WIP (because I keep having these ideas, but also keep forgetting to write them down skjfns)
  • Publish at least 2 blog posts per month and be consistent!! +blog-hop <333
  • Finish all school work before school starts

My goals are pretty basic, but that’s really all that I can think of at the moment. I know when school starts I’m going to have less and less time to read and blog (etc.) So I really want to get in the flow (& out of my slump), so that I feel more and more motivated to do these things instead of just being lazy and wasting time rip.

When are your summer vacations? Do you have any plans? What books are you planning to read soon? How has your summer been so far?

19 thoughts on “We’re Cool for the Summer (and, apparently, also *Fashionably* Late): Lists, Plans, and Goals”

  1. the way i wanted to scream after reading the title 😂 ‘cool for the summer’ is literally an iconic bop

    sounds like you’ve been having so much fun!! why does milan sound so glamorous? 😅 the pups look adorable and your potential tbr looks like it’s thriving ehe

    looking forward to more of your updates 💕

    Liked by 1 person

  2. All the dogs are so cute and adorable 😍😍
    I hope you recover from your reading slump (those things are the worst!!) and hope you have a great month ahead!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Your vacation plans sound so wonderful! I’m firmly a cat lady but Tilly just stole my heart 😍 My uni summer break starts next Friday and I’ll be heading to Berlin for two days to pre-celebrate a friend’s birthday before spending a week hosting a summer camp for kids! It’s going to be stressful but I also look forward to doing all the arts and crafts haha. I don’t have any other summer plans quite yet because I’ll have to write my final dissertation over the summer. But a friend of mine is moving to London for work and I’m hoping I can get cheap flights so I can visit them. I’ve never been to London (or anywhere in England) so far and I’m very excited about that possibility!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wowwww your holiday plans are amazing 😍😍 they sounds very luxurious and I hope you have/are having the best time!! I am going nowhere 😅😂 but how cute were those dogs!! They sounds adorable and very hyper, my dog is 13 years old so she just sleeps mostly!!
    I hope you enjoy all the shopping and books– I kissed shara wheeler and my sister’s big fat Indian wedding sound like perfect summer reads. I hope you love them 💛💛

    Liked by 1 person

  5. AHAANA THIS POST IS ABSOLUTELY AMAZING!!! Also THE TITLE AHH I ADORE IT !!!

    Oooh, your London trip seems like SO MUCH FUN, I hope you enjoy it over there !!!💖💖 AND SHOPPING!! hope you love it 💗 I’ve always wanted to visit the UK because my Mom used to work there and she has the most AMAZING stories from living there!!! 😭😭

    Ahhh I hope you get out of your slump soon, and I totally agree reading is supposed to be something completely enjoyable and not at all forceful!! ❤ ❤
    I KISSED SHARA WHEELER IS ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL SJSJFSL!1!!!! I recently read it AND VERY OBVIOUSLY FELL IN LOVE, hope you end up liking it!!

    Ugh, time is completely a social construct, it’s so weird how it’s passing by so?? quickly?? HOW IS IT JULY HELP?!??
    TILLY SEEMS LIKE THE ABSOLUTE BEST OMG!!! I’m deathly scared of dogs but she just seems SO ADORABLE! 😭
    Ahhh That Billie concert looks like SO MUCH FUN, so glad you had an absolute blast!!! She had a concert where I lived a few months ago but I couldn’t go because I had exams then ARGHH 😭😭

    Good luck with all of your goals, and hope the rest of your summer is absolutely FANTASTIC AS WELL!!💖💖💖

    Liked by 1 person

  6. ahhhh dOGS!!! they’re so sweet 🥺🥺 also!!! Billie Eillish and Måneskin concerts?? Do you mind if I tag along 👀 I swear I’ll fit into a suitcase-
    eh-hem. Anyway. Sounds like a pretty good vacation! :>

    Liked by 1 person

  7. thank u sm for blessing us with those cute pups ahaana??? my day got instantly 12932% better?? also i read east of eden for school and out of my entire high school reading curriculum, that’s the one i enjoyed the most! i hope you enjoy it! OMG YOU’RE TRAVELING SM??? IM SO PROUD OF YOU??? i love to see people travel it’s so fun. ❤ you can read 6 books this summer! you got this! so far, i'm currently reading the dragon's promise (arc), addie larue (br), jade legacy, and the long way to a small, angry planet. this summer has been full of work and catching up on hobbies so it's been GOOD! hope u have a great rest of your summer! <33

    Liked by 1 person

  8. STOOP BILLIE ELISH CONCERT?? that would literally be my dream come true💘 And those dogs are the cutest!! i have a dog myself but she’s an angel looking disguised devil… I wish I could have met you or something since I live in the UK but right now I’m on a vacation in Korea😭😭 I hope your Summer goes the best it can!!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. OH MY GOD, AHAANA, THOSE DOG PICTURES!!! 🥰🤩🥰🤩 My heart just couldn’t take the cuteness overload, and if I were your cousins, I’d be super watchful for the next few weeks… 😁😈
    I’m happy to hear you’re enjoying your summer, though – London and all those travel and concert plans sound amazing!! – and that you’ve got so many interesting books headed your way! 🤗 Enjoy your summer!!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. […] Ahaana, I don’t know where to begin but I just wanted to say I love you and your amazing, beautiful blog. you’re the kindest and sweetest person. Belle, you’re an amazing person and content is always so gorgeous i love it so much. Cherelle, you’re the most sweetest person I’ve met and you’re love for diverse books always inspired me so much, ily. Rhi, the way you use your words in your posts makes me feel like I’m reading a poem, and your content itself is so aesthetic and clean i love it. Suhani, I am literally in love with all your posts and i love you and your blog so much. And your comments never fail to make me feel happy. Katie, your blog is so aesthetic and soft, it’s so gorgeous and your blog always motivates me to do better so thank you, ily. Prutha, your blog posts are always so fun to read and you’re so nice, ily. […]

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment