Crooked Kingdom (book 2 in the Six of Crows Duology) by Leigh Bardugo

Rating: 4.3 stars

After loving Six of Crows so much, I couldn’t wait to start reading this book. This book starts where Six of Crows ended, with Inej in crisis. I loved this book so much, and it just helped me forget about everything happening in school at the moment. There was a new problem in each chapter, and Kaz had even more tricks up his sleeve. The romance between Jesper and Wylan was to die for. The way Bardugo developed it wouldn’t let me put the book down. The only issue in this whole book was that she never described Inej’s and Kaz’s relationship, except for at the end, when she merely hinted at a possible future together. In this book, we can also see the crows sparking revolution, and growing together and apart with each other, and I think that’s the reason this book was so special. That you can see each of the characters grow every step of the way, as both part of a group, and an individual. 

The pace of this book is certainly slower than the first one. I feel like that is more full of relentless action, and plot twists, (and so is this), but this one gives more focus to each of the character’s backstories, and how far each of the dregs have come after struggling to survive. The storyline is engaging, and the ratio of action, and emotion is well balanced. The action and tension never run dry, leaving readers with something to look forward to on each page. I love how each of the characters are so diverse, and some even polar opposites, because that makes the way they interact a lot more entertaining. All the close calls, and with each of their dominant traits, you would think that there is no stopping their gang. But they take some blows, and just when you think they have no coming back from that, its either Kaz’s brains, Jesper’s talents, Wylan’s innovation, Matthias’s strength, Nina’s sharp tongue, or Inej’s skills that help the story take off in a whole new direction. A lot of their actions really surprised me, and took place when I least expected them to, and I think that’s what made this book so interesting. 

As I mentioned earlier this was wayyyy slower than the previous one (not that it’s an issue), but I was just expecting something action-packed with barely time to process as the sequel to Six of Crows. I also got very frustrated at Inej’s and Kaz’s romance. Everyone else was really invested, but just the fact that they kept hiding their feelings, and no one knew what was hapenning annoyed me. Something I forgot to mention earlier is that Kaz’s and Inej’s backstories might not be easy to read for both people who suffer from PTSD and people who have experienced sexual assault.

Overall, I loved this book, as well as its prequel, but I just felt it’s a bit overrated. I was looking for something to get me over my Throne of Glass addiction, and although this was a great read, it just wasn’t enough. If you have the time, I think you should definitely read this book, it’s worth the read. 🙂

17 thoughts on “Crooked Kingdom (book 2 in the Six of Crows Duology) by Leigh Bardugo”

  1. The ending…!!! I was sobbing. Really love this duology and completely agree with you, Six of Crows was my favourite but together they were soooo good! I loved it way better than Shadow and Bone.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ahhh this is such a great book! I totally agree with your points, the pace was interesting but I love all the character developments. It’s just brilliant. I think Leigh Bardugo said theyre might be some cameos in the second king of scars and I’m really hoping we see some more Kanej 🤞

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ahhhhh I loved Crooked Kingdom! I’m surprised you found it slower than Six of Crows…maybe there wasn’t as much action overall but I feel like in SoC, all the action happened at once. The beginning of SoC was REALLY slow, and then when they got to the actual heist it was just action, action, action. Whereas in this one, it was more spread out? But I got into this one way faster since I already knew the characters and such.
    But oh my gosh I really agree, Jeslyn (or Wesper, but Jeslyn sounds better) is totally awesome!!!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, that’s true. I get wanting to have the actual story instead of the backstories…but I think that backstories are very interesting and Bardugo is awesome at making them. I really enjoyed learning more about Wylan’s family.

        Liked by 1 person

          1. Yeah! I also liked seeing how Jesper interacted with his dad…because all six of them are very independent and most of them don’t even have parents anymore so that was pretty cool. I totally feel bad for his dad, though, because he was so clueless and confused 😂

            Liked by 1 person

  4. Totally agree that Crooked Kingdom was way slower paced. But I absolutely love Kaz and Inej. Their romance wasn’t my favorite part of the story that ending with the two had me all smiles!

    Also, I love ToG. Although I’m on book 5 and need to finish the series.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment